MDGs – myth or reality for international development?

Millennium Development Goals

Image by jiadoldol via Flickr

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight international development goals that all 192 United Nations member states (and several international organizations) agreed to achieve by the year 2015.
Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger

Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education

Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women

Goal 4: Reduce child mortality

Goal 5: Improve maternal health

Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases

Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability

Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development

Last week (20-22 September), the UN Summit on the MDGs concluded with the adoption of a global action plan to achieve the eight anti-poverty goals by their 2015 target date and the announcement of major new commitments for women’s and children’s health and initiatives against poverty, hunger and disease.

Some interesting discussions about alternative poverty indicators and different ways to measure comparative standards of living.